The Mangekyou Sharingan is an advanced and coveted form of the Sharingan, accessible only to a select few in the Naruto series. Each Mangekyou Sharingan has its unique design and abilities, often linked to the user’s emotional experiences and personal tragedies. In this article, we will delve into the various Mangekyou Sharingan types, their patterns, and the individuals who possess them, along with their respective abilities.

  1. Itachi Uchiha:

    • Mangekyou Sharingan Pattern: Itachi’s Mangekyou Sharingan has a pattern resembling three intersecting ellipses.
    • Abilities:
      • Tsukuyomi: A powerful genjutsu that distorts the victim’s perception of time and reality, causing intense mental and physical pain.
      • Amaterasu: The black flames that ignite anything the user gazes upon, burning relentlessly until their target is reduced to ashes.
      • Susanoo: A colossal, warrior-like spirit that protects the user and wields a sword and bow.
  2. Obito Uchiha:

    • Mangekyou Sharingan Pattern: Obito’s Mangekyou Sharingan has a simple, circular design with a pinwheel shape.
    • Abilities:
      • Kamui: Allows the user to phase through objects and teleport themselves and others to a dimension called Kamui’s dimension.
      • Izanagi: A powerful genjutsu that blurs the line between reality and illusion, allowing the user to rewrite their own fate.
  3. Madara Uchiha:

    • Mangekyou Sharingan Pattern: Madara’s Mangekyou Sharingan has a six-pointed star-like design.
    • Abilities:
      • Izanagi: Similar to Obito, Madara possessed the Izanagi, which could rewrite reality in the user’s favor.
      • Limbo: Madara could create invisible clones on a separate plane that could attack his enemies, making them nearly untouchable.
  4. Izuna Uchiha:

    • Mangekyou Sharingan Pattern: Izuna’s Mangekyou Sharingan pattern is not explicitly shown in the series.
    • Abilities (not explicitly shown in the series, but presumed to be similar to Madara’s due to their blood relation).
  5. Sasuke Uchiha:

    • Mangekyou Sharingan Pattern: Sasuke’s Mangekyou Sharingan resembles three tomoe-like shapes in a pinwheel formation.
    • Abilities:
      • Amaterasu: Similar to Itachi, Sasuke can generate the black flames.
      • Blaze Release: Kagutsuchi: Sasuke can control the black flames, using them to shape and direct his attacks.
      • Susanoo: Sasuke’s Susanoo evolves, gaining a complete humanoid form and various weapons.
  6. Shisui Uchiha:

    • Mangekyou Sharingan Pattern: Shisui’s Mangekyou Sharingan has a unique, elegant design resembling a pinwheel.
    • Abilities:
      • Kotoamatsukami: A genjutsu that allows the user to control the thoughts and actions of the target without their knowledge.
  7. Indra Otsutsuki:

    • Mangekyou Sharingan Pattern: Indra’s Mangekyou Sharingan pattern is not explicitly shown, but it is considered to be the progenitor of all Sharingan patterns.
    • Abilities (not explicitly shown in the series but presumed to be highly advanced and powerful).
  8. Shin Uchiha:

    • Mangekyou Sharingan Pattern: Shin’s Mangekyou Sharingan is unique, resembling a six-pointed star with a pupil in each point.
    • Abilities:
      • Body Modification: Shin could replace various body parts with Sharingan-embedded clones, granting him regenerative abilities and multiple Sharingan eyes.


The Mangekyou Sharingan is a fascinating aspect of the Naruto series, each with its distinct design and abilities. These ocular powers represent the depth of emotion, tragedy, and evolution experienced by the Uchiha clan members and others who unlock this advanced stage of the Sharingan. The unique abilities of each Mangekyou Sharingan add complexity and intrigue to the characters who possess them, making them formidable and compelling figures in the Naruto world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *